10 Years Of Medium: Tell Me Which Story Changed Your Life and Why?

Adebayo Adeniran
2 min readSep 23, 2022

Read on….

Aaron Burden via Unsplash

I learnt about Medium by accident through a work colleague in October 2017.

And as soon as I went online to check out the platform, I was hooked. Unlike the paywalls to which I paid huge sums (The Times, The Guardian, The New York Times), it wasn’t pricey and it was readily accessible.

It also didn’t matter that the writing was quite generic back then, all that mattered was the very concept of Medium: a space devoted to writing about anything that caught your fancy.

Even when applauding articles meant that writers would get paid, I always made sure that I gave the full whack, all the time, every time.

Back then, I never saw myself as a writer.

But it wasn’t until I read the most definitive article ever, that I knew I had to put words in sentences and paragraphs.

And for this, I remain indebted to Julio Vincent Gambuto

It was he who wrote what could be described as the era defining article.

--

--

Adebayo Adeniran

A lifelong bibliophile, who seeks to unleash his energy on as many subjects as possible