Do People Still Celebrate Valentine’s Day?

Adebayo Adeniran
2 min readFeb 12, 2022

Just wondering.

Solen Feyissa via unsplash

It is that special time of the year. The time to show our unrequited love and affection for that special someone.

The time to splash the cash, despite the fact that there’s so little of it and not forgetting the fact that we are considerably poorer today than we have been in a very long time.

But for those in the business of selling flowers, chocolates, and the rest of the appurtenances connected to the 14th of February have never been bothered with our economic circumstances; they just want us to part with what little we have.

And guess what?

We have made it so easy for them.

Everywhere I go, I see people splurging on gifts for their significant other, leaving me wondering if these difficult times have eaten away at our critical faculties and left us unable to decide what’s important and what isn’t.

I, for one, won’t be partaking in the business of buying gifts for anyone. These are highly precarious times, economically.

I state this because, despite my best efforts, I have never broken into the echelon of the super earners in this space and my articles haven’t caught the eye of those closest to Ev Williams or the algorithm for that matter, which essentially means that I am…

--

--

Adebayo Adeniran

A lifelong bibliophile, who seeks to unleash his energy on as many subjects as possible