Hunger Games In Brexit Britain

Adebayo Adeniran
4 min readApr 3, 2022

And this time, it is real….

Patrick Perkins via Unsplash

It is clear with every passing day that Britain is unravelling.

The country of my birth is truly coming apart at the seams in the most extraordinary way imaginable.

In all my 44 years of existence, I have never known life to be incredibly tough for a great number of folks around me. Those experiencing the very worst economic hardships actually do have two or three jobs and yet can barely afford to pay their electricity and heating bills.

One should point out that the author of this piece isn’t at immune from the current economic upheavals as I am seriously struggling in a way that I have never done, ever I since I joined employment society as a 16 year old in the 1990s.

When historians talk of economic difficulties brought about by the three day week and the winter of discontent of the late 1970s, they are forced to concede that it pales in comparison to our post Brexit reality in 2022.

When millions of people around the country are forced to choose between paying for food or heating their homes in what has been an exceedingly long winter, then you start to appreciate the salient fact that the Rubicon has indeed been crossed.

Welcome to the hunger games in Brexit Britain.

--

--

Adebayo Adeniran

A lifelong bibliophile, who seeks to unleash his energy on as many subjects as possible