To Every Reader And Writer On Medium: Thank You Very Much.

Adebayo Adeniran
5 min readJun 19, 2021

You guys are all phenomenal, you truly are.

Image via Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

The very first time I heard about Medium was in October 2017 at a board meeting. Once I went on and began to view the articles on display, I was immediately hooked.

And I have been hooked ever since.

It’s no exaggeration to say that being here on this platform has been truly life changing.

Back during my office days in Lagos, pre-Covid, I would get up at 3–3.30am, work out for 90 minutes, get to my office desk at 5:30am, armed with my cup of coffee, ready to do a full day’s work.

But before any work could take place, reading Thomas Oppong, Ayodeji Awosika and Tim Denning was essential to starting my day. It is fair to say that their articles were usually the shot in the arm needed to get through the day.

It was also at this time that I got to discover other marquee writers such as Ezinne Ukoha, Nicholas Cole. With Mr. Cole, I was slightly incredulous that someone so young, could be so brilliant and accomplished.

The idea of having the publication devoted to African literature was truly a masterstroke. Reading diverse stories on Kalahari was a huge revelation, because it reminded me of the many brilliant authors, I read as a boy in the 80s and 90s.

--

--

Adebayo Adeniran

A lifelong bibliophile, who seeks to unleash his energy on as many subjects as possible