Two Years on, I Still Pine For The Lockdown

Adebayo Adeniran
3 min readJul 25, 2022

This is yet another unpopular opinion.

Image of the greatest city in the world via Jonathan Chng on Unsplash

2020 was truly an extraordinary year for mankind.

We may go on to have many more years on the clock but we would be hard pressed to find another yet like it again.

London was a shadow of its former self. The entire city resembled a bomb site; perhaps akin to 1945, when the second world war ended. Stores and shops were shut, Pubs were closed, millions of folks were locked in their homes, refusing to come out. Life as knew it had ended.

And yet, when I look back on that period, I have to say that it might very well be the very best time of my life. Ever.

I must point out that I am in no way negating the devastating effect that Covid has had on millions of lives across the world; I am a three time survivor of that dreadful illness and must add that I lost a very close relative of mine to Covid.

I should also state that I got kicked out of a job around the same time the world ground to a halt. Anyone who is familiar with my articles in this space will have read detailed accounts of what took place in February 2020.

But there’s something about the lockdown that I still pine for.

The long walks through the city of my birth is one of the reasons.

--

--

Adebayo Adeniran

A lifelong bibliophile, who seeks to unleash his energy on as many subjects as possible