Where Is Edward Hackett?

Adebayo Adeniran
3 min readMay 15, 2023

And other missing writers on this beloved platform.

Hannah Olinger via Unsplash

A quick confession.

When I wrote the article about U-Ming Lee last week, it was partly because I hadn’t seen anything from him in a very long time. I was starting to worry that something had happened to a dear and treasured colleague.

For a minute, I felt the same way about Mr. John Welford, a gentleman who resides in a village in the middle of England.

But those fears were immediately assuaged when he described my article as completely nonsensical from the beginning to the end.

To me, what mattered was that he’s well and alive.

And this was also the case with George Blue Kelly who confirmed that he had taken some time off from writing on our beloved platform, last year, when I hadn’t read an article from him for several months.

So what’s the point here?

Writers may or may not know it, but their absence is usually felt by those of us, who are active here.

While it has become somewhat fashionable to blame the algorithm for everything that goes wrong on our platform, people do step away from Medium for a host of reasons known only to them.

And this brings me right to Edward W Hackett

--

--

Adebayo Adeniran

A lifelong bibliophile, who seeks to unleash his energy on as many subjects as possible